South Carolina imam arrested on felony fraud charge

This imam is innocent, until proven guilty, of course, but check out the tale this pious brother tells. via The Post and Courier

A leading member of Charleston’s Muslim community is facing a felony fraud charge, but he insists he is being set up to take the fall for a $6,600 theft he didn’t commit.

Imam Mohammed Idris, 67, is accused of using a North Charleston man’s checking account to pay his cell phone bills since May 2008. North Charleston police say Idris racked up hundreds of dollars of charges each month on the account between that time and January of this year.

The account holder contacted police in January after discovering improper withdrawals. Police arrested Idris last month on a charge of financial identity fraud. He spent three days in the Charleston County jail before he was able to post $25,000 bail to secure his release.

Idris said someone is setting him up or he is the victim of a colossal billing error. He said he doesn’t know the man whose bank account was violated and he had nothing to do with the theft.

Police tied him to the missing funds by tracing unauthorized payments to an AT&T cell phone account in Idris’ name, according to an arrest affidavit.

“My name is on the phone. If I was going to use someone’s bank account, I certainly wouldn’t connect that right back to me,” Idris said. “I don’t lie, I don’t smoke, I don’t fornicate, I don’t commit adultery and I don’t steal. I help people in the community.”

Idris readily acknowledges that he did not pay his cell phone bill during the period in question. He said ATA&T informed him that someone else had taken care of the bill for him.

He said he didn’t question the identity of what he thought was an anonymous benefactor. He simply accepted it as a gift, not unlike other donations that come his way, he said.

I am in a religion that accepts charity,” he said. “I know people donate things anonymously and I have done so as well. I help people in society and people help me. That’s how I took it.”

What might this leading member of Charleston’s Muslim community be teaching Muslims in South Carolina? Read the rest via Imam Mohammed Idris denies fraud charge

Another pious Muslim in Ohio:  Ohio executes man who killed inmate after TV spat

9 Responses

  1. This is heart rending….OF COURSE he is innocent!

    * me rolling my eyes*

  2. Is there a prosecution lawyer doing some discovery on the phone’s call logs? Hmmmmm???

    d(^_^)b

    http://libertyatstake.blogspot.com/

    “Because the Only Good Progressive is a Failed Progressive”

  3. “Idris said someone is setting him up or he is the victim of a colossal billing error.” Could it be the Mahdi or Ahmadinejad framing the poor Muslim?

    He is bloody well fortunate he did not get caught in the Mecca or Iran…he would be missing a hand and foot without a trial~!

  4. Fraud & theft for this Imam huh! Allah isn’t going to like this is he?

  5. I guess he hasn’t heard of one of the TEN COMMANDENTS, THOW SHALL NOT STEAL, oh I forgot that is not in the QURAN is it, No, it say’s in the QURAN that if you steal for ALLAH’S sake it is ok. LOCK and LOAD.

  6. He broke now laws under Sharia. And he is of course only under Sharia. Infidels are to be robbed and killed.

    My question is what religion he is in? We know Islam is NOT a religion but a violent political system.

    May be a question to ask the mighty parasite.

  7. LMAO

    I have to ask myself one question – if I were called to jury duty for this slug, how could I make sure I served without letting them know that I know a heck of a lot about islam and their lying ways?

  8. [...] Imam in South Carolina arrested for fraud. [...]

Your comments & your IP address are your legal problem, not ours.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37,829 other followers

