Houston: Iraqi Muslim refugee who plotted to bomb American malls pleads guilty

Source: Houston man who pledged allegiance to ISIS, plotted to bomb malls pleads guilty to terrorism charge – Houston Chronicle

A Houston man who pledged his allegiance to ISIS and plotted to detonate homemade bombs in local shopping malls pleaded guilty Monday to a terrorism-related charge.

Omar Faraj Saeed Al Hardan, a 24-year-old father, stockpiled circuitry components, wireless remotes and other bomb-making implements in his west Houston apartment, according to court documents.

“I want to blow myself up. I want to travel with the Mujahidin,” he once said, according to prosecutors. “I want to travel to be with those who are against America. I am against America.”

A prayer list for committing jihad and becoming a martyr was found among his belongings, as was an ISIL flag, according to a news release issued by U.S. Attorney Ken Magidson.

Al Hardan  pleaded guilty on one count of attempting to provide material support to the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant, known as ISIL or ISIS. He had been facing two other charges for allegedly lying during the application process for U.S. citizenship.

His attorney, David Adler, could not be reached for comment.

Al Hardan originally entered the country as an Iraqi refugee in 2009. He gained legal permanent residence in 2011 and settled in the Houston area.

Feds started investigating him in April 2014, looking at his communications with other suspected terrorists and monitoring his menacing social media posts.

In November 2014, according to the plea agreement, Al Hardan took an oath of loyalty to ISIL.

Al Hardan said he will stay in custody till his January sentencing hearing. He is facing up to 20 years in federal prison. Prosecutors agreed as part of the plea deal not to see up to $250,000 in fines.

As noted previously, Iraqi Muslim refugee wanted to bomb malls, said “I am against America”

…Al Hardan was coordinating efforts with another Iraqi refugee living in California, Aws Mohammed Younis Al-Jayab. The two men communicated through Facebook messenger from April 2013 to October 2014 and talked about getting weapons training and eventually sneaking into Syria to fight alongside the terrorist group, Wittliff said.

“Once I get the passport I will leave America, I will leave. I will make a widow of you,” Al Hardan said to his wife, according to the excerpt read in court. “I will go to Syria. I am not wacko. I am not wacko. I am speaking the truth. I want to blow myself up. I want to blow myself up … I am against America.”

And don’t forget, it certainly appears that this ISIS-supporting Muslim refugee brought another Muslim refugee to the U.S. to be his child bride.



2 Responses

  1. This sicko muzzrat is beyond being “wacko”, he’s totally brain-dead. He wouldn’t know the Truth if it knocked him down and stomped on his head! Let’s hope he really does get a ticket to muzzscum land and that he really does blow himself to kingdom come! GOOD RIDDANCE!!!!!

  2. Then why are you here??

If sharia law continues spreading, you'll have less and less freedom of speech - so speak while you can!

