My Hometown is Gone – the Islamization of a Small American Town

Source: My Hometown Is Gone.  h/t FED Up

Hi! This is a blog post I threw together in response to the recent increase in refugee numbers by Trump’s State Department, in order to convey what it is like living in an Islamizing area. I gave a talk at a luncheon a few months ago that was basically relating my story of how my hometown has been Islamized by refugee resettlement. So it makes sense to do a blog post.

I’m from the Utica, NY area. Utica is the city nicknamed by the UN “the city that loves refugees!” Soon every American city will be a city that loves refugees! Get ready! So I would like to tell you what it is like living in an area where the major city is about 25% (or more) refugee, mainly Muslim

I was born in Utica, a “faded industrial town” along the Mohawk River/Erie Canal corridor, and lived there until I was 8-years-old when my family moved to a nearby small college town. I loved living in Utica because there were lots of families on my block, big Catholic families with lots of kids. You could yard-hop, checking out who was available for play. You could bike around the neighborhood. There were block parties in the summer. My grandmother lived up the street. Life was good.

My father and his father were born and lived in Utica, NY. My father was a judge in Utica, like his father before him. The Catholic school my father attended is now a community center for refugees. After I moved back to the Utica area as an adult I used to recite “Full fathom five” to the children as we drove by my father’s former Catholic school. (Nothing of him that doth fade,/But doth suffer a sea change/Into something rich and strange.)

When I had my first child I was living in New York City. Her father and I divorced when she was a baby, and when she was two-years-old, I beat a hasty retreat back home to Upstate NY. There I met my husband. We got married, we had babies (in that order, ahem), and we settled down outside of Utica.

When I moved back home one of the first things I noticed was that an old Methodist church was being converted into a bright shiny white new mosque. The local paper touted this as immense progress and featured a local woman who had attended the church as a child and was positively brimming with joy it was being turned into a mosque. If that is the general sentiment, then it’s odd that my county went for Trump, right? There are at least two mosques in the city now. They just built another.

Where do I start? Utica had always been “the city that loves refugees” but under Obama things accelerated. Muslim immigrants were suddenly in these local bureaucratic positions where they had power over you. This, in what is probably one of the most corrupt states in the union, where the power of the state is everything.

The social worker at my daughter’s school was a Muslim immigrant. I looked for her profile on the school website, I googled her, I could not find information on her background, resume, qualifications, or educational attainments.

When I began to homeschool my daughter the administrator to whom I had to submit paperwork was a Muslim immigrant. To homeschool in New York State you must submit detailed quarterly reports to an administrator at your local school district. I googled the administrator. He also worked at the local Board of Cooperative Educational Services, but I could not find any other information on his background, resume, qualifications, or educational attainments.

I was friends with the wife of the Orthodox priest at our church, and she told me that this administrator found some problems with her paperwork and challenged her. It turned out she was right about the issue, and he backed down. Comfy little situation, right?

Right before we moved I went to the ER. The nurse practitioner was a Muslim immigrant (Bosnia), and the doctor she worked under was a Muslim immigrant (Pakistan). I remember how during the visit I suddenly became very aware of the cross I always wear around my neck.

In 2012 on the way home from my daughter’s piano lesson, I left my children in the car, ran into the supermarket for ten minutes, and came out to find a man outside my car who informed me he had called the police. I called my husband and my parents and together we waited for the police officer who eventually arrived and arrested me. Lenore Skenazy wrote an account of the incident in the Wall Street Journal. It is pretty accurate except that it wasn’t a suburb, it was a village of less than 2,000 people.

It was a terrible thing to do, but it was not hot (we’re about two hours from the Canadian border), it was the small safe village where I grew up (I think I was the only arrest that week), and I spent half my childhood hanging out in the car with my brother while my mother did errands. My friend sent me a Salon article (I don’t read Salon) about a mom who did the same thing, and she like me was in her hometown where she grew up, and so automatically just living by the rules she grew up with. My mother never got arrested. It didn’t occur to me I would be arrested. That’s my only arrest. So far. But anyway, the point of this story is I was then investigated (and cleared which I hope should be obvious) by CPS.

The CPS worker who investigated me was Muslim.

So let me just summarize: the social worker at the school is Muslim, the administrator who ok’s homeschooling is Muslim, the CPS worker is Muslim, the nurse practitioner at the ER is Muslim, the doctor at the ER is Muslim. These are positions of authority that wield a lot of power.

Are you starting to get the picture?

The spring before we moved Utica made national news because of a federal grant to the local community college (two million dollars) for a (Muslim immigrant) professor to teach teenage (Muslim) refugees how to build drones. The grant didn’t mention explicitly that the drones would be equipped with bombs or anything, so it was all aboveboard. This was going on like down the road from us. My husband assured me he could shoot any drone out of the sky, and I’m sure he could, but curiously enough that didn’t assuage my anxiety, but only exacerbated it. The last thing I needed was my husband getting arrested on federal charges for taking down a drone.

I looked up the Muslim immigrant professor on Linked In. It was an odd career trajectory. It looked like he had been a soccer coach a few years before. It wasn’t exactly clear to me how he had landed his present job where he was getting federal money to train Muslims to build drones…


Read it all and see our list of Muslim enclaves on the right-hand navigation area of any page in the section titled “Muslim Enclaves in America.”

21 thoughts on “My Hometown is Gone – the Islamization of a Small American Town

  1. so sorry to hear the story of Utica, I am indian, worked as Certified math teacher for few years and left the country to accept Canada as home and since last 10 years i have been living happy and content.
    I just want to point out the discrimination in immigration itself – An indian takes 12 years to get green card and pakistani or middle eastern or bangladeshi, they take 1 year. How is that make sense to anyone and that was the sole reason, i resigned my job in VA as a math teacher and left country LEGALLY.

  2. This can only happen when Americans are silent and passive. Muslims need to live in countries that share their 7th century civilization and religion.

  3. You keep bombing, killing millions across the world. And a few refugees make you nervous! At least, be human. People of any religion are humans first, if you start looking at people from religious angle, your brain will always function in that way. That’s the problem with caste, colour, creed or any such identification. We are all humans with all our deficiencies, faults and idiosycracies.

    • You sure picked a good handle. If you think Islam is going to give you a break because you believe in equality, Dream On. And stand by for a rude awakening.
      And I mean that nicely.

    • Hey ‘Dreamer’… I don’t much care how NICE this sounds…. You’re really “dreaming” if you don’t think there is a vast difference betw. islamists and all other religious sects! Islam is the ONE and only so-called “religion” where you are oppressed (OR KILLED) for failure to comply! You really don’t have a clue about this! Oh ahh, I’ve already heard the “Crusades” argument, so don’t bore me with that one. I suppose you would also argue that 9/11 was all our own fault, huh??? Yeah, how’d I know that?????

    • This woman lost her whole hometown. You know Sunday morning church, little league baseball, talking to friends you grew up with, church picnics and barbecues and being amongst people that have similar ideals and values. That is what hometown is about.

    • This is a Western Cultured Country. “A few immigrants”….in positions which should be held by Americans…that have a requirement to have certain backgrounds and educational levels…this town is no longer Western Civilization. It has become an Islamic city. She is right to be concerned.

      As for your accusations…show me where this woman bombed anyone. Apparently your anger towards generalization is only against others….pot….kettle…look it up.

  4. How can someone like “dreamer” come on this site with all the information on islam’s love of Sharia law and show their ignorance. Islam must dominate the world, not assimilate.

  5. The peoples who settled the colonies that eventually became the various States of the United States were all overt Christians or fully participants in a culture derived from Christianity. Our society has been one based on a Christian-themed culture. As late as 1960, over 60 percent of Americans attended church.

    The society has now grown increasingly secular. When Christian-derived values come under assault like marriage, sexual morality, merit or hard work, the voices of the Progressive world view often prevail. Few people dare to defend the Christian view of sexual morality any more lest they be slandered as a H8r.

    So, when we allow immigration by a people whose culture is rooted in the aggressive religion of Islam, we must not be surprised that such people move to fill the moral and spiritual vacuum left behind by the retreat of Christianity.

    Secular elites love the liberal society. That would be “liberal” in the classical sense. Guess where that society came from. These people are so liberal that they think they are free to engineer a better society, one that must be better because of how openly we welcome people of a foreign and hostile culture. We are not going to like the society that Muslims will create that is derived from Islamic-themed values. And western secular elites are going to be ejected from the power they have assumed. And now there is no going back. We have invited a virus into our body and we will pay dearly for it over time.

    Thank a self-loathing Progressive! They hated the society they had. It will not get any better under Islam.

    • Actually, there would be no Christianity without the Jewish people, so the USA was built on the Judeo-Christian principles. Fighting muslims was the reason for the Crusades, do the readers here realize that? Also, that fighting muslims was the reason for the Spanish Inquisition? The Catholic Church was trying to save humanity, and STILL gets punished for it, esp by Communist/Progressive Leftists.

      • I was born and raised in the ” catholic church ” …they were trying to save humanity ? they still are ? Please read the history of the so called ” holy ” catholic church it is about as ” holy ” as the quran.
        the catholic church has embraced the ” muslims ” with open arms even saying they are above all others worship the same GOD …just as stupid as the rest of the world….muslim do NOT worship JESUS nor do they acknowledge HIM…this world we have now is what the people have made it, a world of death, hate, rape , murder, immorality of the vilest kind being spoon feed to our children as we sit around holding hands with the devil. asking muslims to join us ……..gag me with a spoon

  6. Pingback: Michigan: Nearly 1/2 candidates for Dearborn city positions are ‘Arabs’, record number in Dearborn Heights too |

  7. I DID NOT ASK ANY MUSLIMS TO COME HERE, I DONT WANT ANY MUSLIMS TO COME HERE
    TRUMP SAID HE WOULD STOP MUSLIMS FROM COMING HERE ,……GUESS WHAT WE HAVE MORE AND MORE MUSLIMS COMING HERE EVER DAY …SHARIA IS WIDE SPREAD HERE IN THE USA ALREADY…KEEP ASKING THE MUSLIM HERE ALL YOU SO SMART OBAMA PEOPLE WHO VOTED THAT MUSLIM INTO THE WHITE HOUSE, THANK YOU OBAMA THE MUSLIM KISS UP MAN

If sharia law continues spreading, you'll have less and less freedom of speech - so speak while you can!

